9 comments on “I Don’t Believe In Destiny

  1. I feel you on that definitely. You went deep though bruh. I think the idea of absolute Destiny was created by leaders of organized religions to keep people within the confines of a particular book or way of life…..ooooops, did I say that out loud? I think Destiny is chosen if anything. Its either we have free will or we don’t. And since I’m 100% convinced we have free will then we write our own story. I just read this book called “The Alchemist.” It definitely put Destiny into a more attainable concept. Have you read it? We should build on it some time.

    • Damn Osa, you did not hold back with the 2nd sentence. I didn’t think about it like that, but it makes sense. In the Hindu religion, or any other society with a Caste System, people were forced to stay in whatever class they were born in. This was only advantageous for people in upper class, but for the people in the lower class thought themselves unfortunate. Lower class men were able to move up the ranks, but it was nearly impossible because of the restrictions placed, by the upperclassmen, on doing so. Relating it to Destiny, the upperclassmen probably wanted to keep the lower class men enslaved and working for them for eternity. What better way to live comfortably, but by using religion and the concept of Destiny to enslave people of ‘lower status.” I mean, who wants to go against the religion they grew up with all their lives.
      Ill def add it to my books to read.

    • Yes. I do believe in God, My God. My God, my interpretation of Him, is different from others interpretation. I don’t like how others construe Him, then I realized that everyone who has a religion, has their own interpretation of their deity or deities. That is what religion really is, just an interpretation of a celestial power usually based off their respective scriptures. My God doesn’t control my life. Instead of constructing a pre-made Life Journey for me, He gave me the ability to create my own path. That is how I see him.

    • I believe in a providential God in terms of divine intervention, but I don’t believe in “a plan for all of us” in regards to a set path. I pave my path, but He can help direct me to my desired goal by intervening. わかりますか

  2. Pingback: Can You Blame Evil? « Another Day in the Life of David's Ego

  3. Just wanted to revisit this idea. Since I read this I am EVEN FURTHER convinced that there is NO PLAN for us. God only wants what we want for ourselves. She will grant us whatever it is we desire WITHOUT limitation. We only say “God has a plan” when its convenient. What is the plan for the drug dealers, pimps, and corrupt politicians? Exactly…there isn’t one. They are allowed to be whatever they want and if they believe then God will “direct.” If the God you (generally speaking) believe in really controls what happens to us, do you think the world would be in the condition it is? Doesn’t the God you believe in prefer peace to violence, wealth to poverty, love to hate? The condition of the world is a reflection of what we (collectively) want, not what God wants. Its also important to note that when we believe “God has a plan” for us, we relinquish control over our own lives. If things don’t go the way you want will you blame God? Is it Her fault that “bad” things happened to you? At what point is it your fault? What control do you have if God controls what happens? I personally refuse to believe in any thought that could potentially make me blame God for what goes wrong. Blame is for weaker individuals. I prefer to have full control and take full responsibility for what happens in MY life.

    • I almost completely agree with your last comment, especially “Doesn’t the God you believe in prefer peace to violence, wealth to poverty, love to hate? The condition of the world is a reflection of what we (collectively) want, not what God wants. ” I couldn’t have said that better. But to play the role of Devils advocate, what if the world’s current condition is the result of our mistakes, errors, and subsequent consequences in a possible trail laid out by God? I would say there is a possibility that how we interact with each other and live our lives is a test if mankind can stay true to the cross-canon idealistic principles set forth. This could determine whether or not you are worthy to enter ‘everlasting life’, and the meaning of the phrase depends on what religion you hail from. o_0

Leave a Reply

